Search Google Appliance

Bridgewater State University - logo
SHARE PAGE:   
 

Department of Elementary & Early Childhood Education

A good teacher can make all the difference in a person’s life – as a child, and later as an adult. Recent studies have shown that good teachers increase the likelihood that a student will score higher on tests, attend college, earn a higher salary, live in a better neighborhood, even save more for retirement.

At Bridgewater, one of our primary goals as a university is to prepare excellent teachers who have the potential to change lives. This department prepares teacher candidates for successful careers in the fields of elementary education and early childhood education.

Faculty
Patricia Emmons
Associate Professor and Chairperson of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 133
Email: patricia.emmons@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, EdD, Central Connecticut State University
MAT, Connecticut College

Louise Anthony
Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 121
Email: lanthony@bridgew.edu
Elaine Bukowiecki
Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 137
Email: ebukowiecki@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, Clark University
MA, Assumption College
CAGS, Lesley College
DEd, University of Massachusetts at Lowell

Andrea Cayson
Assistant Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 120
Email: andrea.cayson@bridgew.edu
Degrees

PhD, Florida State University

Susan Eliason
Assistant Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 139
Email: susan.eliason@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, Iowa State University
MEd, Worcester State College
EdD, Nova Southeastern University

Nicole Glen
Assistant Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 130
Email: nicole.glen@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, State University of New York at Brockport
MS, PhD, Syracuse University

Steven Greenberg
Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 135
Email: sgreenberg@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, MEd, Northeastern University
EdD, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Jennifer Manak
Assistant Professor of Elementary and Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 131
Email: jennifer.manak@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BEd, MEd, PhD, University of Florida

John Marvelle
Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 121
Email: jmarvelle@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, MEd, Bridgewater State College
EdD, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Gregory Nelson
Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 138
Email: gnelson@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Rice University
MA, PhD, University of Washington

Heather Pacheco-Guffrey
Assistant Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 121
Email: heather.pacheco-guffrey@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, University of Rhode Island
MEd, University of Massachusetts Boston
PhD, Arizona State University

Mary Shorey
Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 132
Email: mshorey@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, University of Maine
MEd, Utah State University
PhD, The Ohio State University

Robert Sylvester
Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 136
Email: rsylvester@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BSc, Salem State College
MEd, Bridgewater State College
PhD, University of Bath

Nancy Witherell
Professor of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall, Room 134
Email: nwitherell@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
MEd, University of Maryland
EdD, University of Massachusetts at Lowell

Staff
Liz Soares
Administrative Assistant I
Hart Hall, Room 122
Email: elizabete.soares@bridgew.edu
Department Chair
Dr.
Patricia Emmons
Administrative Assistant
Ms.
Liz Soares

 

The department offers Bachelor of Science in Education programs in Elementary Education and Early Childhood Education (with the option to concentrate in Teaching Students with or without Disabilities or Early Education and Care), and a BSE in Elementary Education/MEd Special Education dual licensure program. We also offer Postbaccalaureate Programs in Elementary Education and Early Childhood Teacher, a CAGS/Reading program, and MEd programs in Elementary Education (three variations, depending on licensure goals), Early Childhood Education and Reading.

Next to parents, elementary and early childhood teachers can be the single most influential factor in a child’s development. We are proud to be training teachers whose impact will be both positive and enduring.

 

Department of Elementary & Early Childhood Education
Hart Hall
Room 122
508.531.1243