Bridgewater State University - logo
SHARE PAGE:   
 

Department of History

Students in the History department engage in a sustained investigation of the record of humanity’s existence. They develop a rich and sophisticated understanding of human nature and human potential, enhancing their critical thinking and argumentation skills in the process.

Our programs enable students to develop research and analytical skills as well as writing and evaluation abilities. As they seek a deeper understanding of world events in context, students strive to comprehend, compare, and closely examine the central issues and ideas.

Faculty
Keith Lewinstein
Professor and Chairperson of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 237
Tel:
508.531.2774
Email: klewinstein@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Medieval Islamic Society and Religion
Islamic Law and Political Thought

Degrees

BA, University of California at Berkeley
MA, PhD, Princeton University

Anne Blaschke
Assistant Professor
Tillinghast Hall, Room 230
Tel:
508.531.2406
Email: anne.blaschke@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Modern Women's History
Twentieth Century US History
Nineteenth Century US History
Colonial America

Courses Taught

HIST-222 US History Since 1865
HIST-440 Modern Women's and Gender History
HIST-495 Modern Women's and Gender History

Degrees

BA, University of California Santa Barbara
MA, Boston University
PhD, Boston University

Joshua Greenberg
Associate Professor of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 228
Tel:
508.531.2786
Email: jgreenberg@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, University of California at Santa Cruz
MA, PhD, American University

Leonid Heretz
Professor of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 232
Tel:
508.531.2410
Email: lheretz@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Traditional culture and religion
The First World War

Degrees

AB, Harvard College
AM, PhD, Harvard University

Andrew Holman
Professor of History; Director of Canadian Studies
Hunt Hall, Room 112
Tel:
508.531.2688
Email: a2holman@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Canada
Canadian-American borderlands
History of Medicine

Degrees

BA, McGill University
MA, McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario
PhD, York University in Toronto, Canada

Michael Ierardi
Professor of History; Graduate Program Coordinator
Tillinghast Hall, Room 224
Tel:
508.531.2414
Email: mierardi@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Ancient History

Degrees

BA, Yale University
MA, PhD, University of California at Berkeley

Margaret Lowe
Professor of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 230
Tel:
508.531.2407
Email: mlowe@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

History of Women
Progressive Era
American Social and Cultural History

Degrees

BA, University of Vermont
MA, PhD, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Thomas Nester
Assistant Professor of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 225
Tel:
508.531.1743
Email: thomas.nester@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

United States History
Civil War and Reconstruction
Military History

Degrees

BA, Susquehanna University
MA, Temple University
PhD, Texas A & M University

Erin O'Connor
Associate Professor of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 234
Tel:
508.531.2405
Email: eoconnor@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Andean history
Gender analysis
Indian/state relations

Degrees

BA, Brandeis University
PhD, Boston College

Brian Payne
Assistant Professor of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 226
Tel:
508.531.2519
Email: brian.payne@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

United States History
Labor History
Maritime History

Degrees

BA, St. John Fisher College
MA, PhD, University of Maine

Paul Rubinson
Assistant Professor of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 222
Tel:
508.531.2412
Email: paul.rubinson@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Cold War History

Degrees

BA, Vanderbilt University
MA, PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Jean Stonehouse
Professor of History; MSCA Bridgewater Chapter President
Tillinghast Hall, Room 220
Tel:
508.531.2415
Email: jstonehouse@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

History of Childhood
United States Constitution

Degrees

BA, Bridgewater State College
MA, Boston University

Wing-Kai To
Professor of History; Coordinator of Asian Studies
Tillinghast Hall, Room 216
Tel:
508.531.2401
Email: wto@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Late Imperial and Modern China
East Asian International History

Degrees

BA, Chinese University of Hong Kong/The United College
MA, Chinese University of Hong Kong
PhD, University of California

J. R. Webb
Assistant Professor of History
Tillinghast Hall, Room 218
Tel:
508.531.2408
Email: jrwebb@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Medieval Europe
Religious and Intellectual History

Degrees

BA, University of Colorado
AM, PhD, Harvard University

Sarah Wiggins
Associate Professor of History; Assistant Director of Honors Center
Tillinghast Hall, Room 219
Tel:
508.531.2018
Email: sarah.wiggins@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

British History
Women's History
British Empire

Degrees

BA, Hendrix College
MA, PhD, University of London, Royal Holloway College 

Emeriti Faculty
David Culver
Professor Emeritus
Tillinghast Hall, Room 225
Tel:
508.531.2402
Email: dculver@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

John F. Kennedy
World War II
Richard Nixon
The Vietnam War

Degrees

AB, Colgate University
MA, PhD, Boston University

Philip Silvia
Professor Emeritus
Tillinghast Hall, Room 221
Tel:
508.531.2403
Email: psilvia@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Local History: Fall River, Massachusetts

Degrees

BA, Providence College
MA, PhD, Fordham University

Thomas Turner
Tillinghast Hall, Room 221
Tel:
508.531.2402
Email: tturner@bridgew.edu
Degrees

AB, AM, PhD, Boston University

Part-time Faculty
Steven Baden
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: steven.baden@bridgew.edu
Richard Brabander
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: richard.brabander@bridgew.edu
Thomas Brown
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: thomas.brown@bridgew.edu
Charles Cox
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: biggalice@aol.com
Peter deRosa
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: agrderosa@yahoo.com
Giampaolo DiGregorio
Tillinghast Hall, 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: giampaolo.digregorio@bridgew.edu
Burton V. Edwards
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: b1edwards@bridgew.edu
Nicholas Ganson
Assistant Professor
Tillinghast Hall, Room 236
Tel:
508.531.2410
Email: nicholas.ganson@bridgew.edu
Areas of Expertise

Russian and Soviet History
Global History
Modern European History

Courses Taught

HIST-131 World History to 1500
HIST-439 Religion and Society in Russia
HIST-439 Comparative Famine and Social Crisis

Degrees

BA, College of the Holy Cross
MA, Boston College
PhD, University of North Carolina

Karin Goldstein
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.2786
Email: karin.goldstein@bridgew.edu
Ross Hall
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: ross.hall@bridgew.edu
William Hanna
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: william.hanna@bridgew.edu
William Hasenfus
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: w1hasenfus@bridgew.edu
Kerima Lewis
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: kerima.lewis@bridgew.edu
Michael Marram
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: michael.marram@bridgew.edu
Joseph McMahon
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: j2mcmahon@bridgew.edu
James Sellman
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: james.sellman@bridgew.edu
Ronald Smith
Tillinghast Hall, Room 233
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: rsmith@bridgew.edu
Jennifer Turner
Tillinghast Hall, Room 223
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: jennifer.turner@bridgew.edu
Staff
Caroline Whitney
Administrative Assistant I
Tillinghast Hall, Room 233
Tel:
508.531.1388
Email: c1whitney@bridgew.edu
Department Chair
Dr.
Keith Lewinstein
Tel:
508.531.2774
Administrative Assistant
Caroline Whitney
Tel:
508.531.1388
Graduate Program Coordinator
Dr.
Michael Ierardi
Tel:
508.531.2414
Coordinator of Asian Studies
Dr.
Wing-Kai To
Tel:
508.531.2401
Director of Canadian Studies
Dr.
Andrew Holman
Tel:
508.531.2688
Coordinator of Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Dr.
Erin O'Connor
Tel:
508.531.2405

The department offers a BA in History, which requires course work in a variety of different areas and periods in history. Students may also pursue a History minor. In addition, we provide focused programs for History majors seeking certification as middle school or high school teachers.

Students of history can pursue graduate work and/or a career in education, research, communication, law, business and other fields. In today’s world, historians enjoy key positions in museums and historical organizations, as cultural resource managers and historic preservationists, and as librarians, teachers, writers, journalists, archivists and filmmakers.

Department of History
Tillinghast Hall
Room 233
508.531.1388