Search Google Appliance

Bridgewater State University - logo

Department of Theater and Dance

The Department of Theater and Dance prepares students to engage with these creative arts throughout their lives – as a career, as an enhancement of other life pursuits and as a way to understand and interpret the world.

Our academic programs include studies in theory, production, management and performance. For students interested in lifelong creative and critical development, we present generous opportunities for broad learning as well as intensive study.

Faculty
Nancy Moses
Professor of Dance; Chairperson of Theater and Dance
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 024C
Email: nmoses@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, MS, Iowa State University
EdD, Boston University

Emmett Buhmann
Assistant Professor of Theater
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 112
Email: emmett.buhmann@bridgew.edu
Degrees

AA, Central Wyoming College
BFA, University of Wyoming
MFA, University of California Irvine

Arthur L. Dirks
Professor of Theater
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 024B
Email: adirks@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Fort Hays State College
MA, University of Kansas
MFA, Illinois State University
EdD, University of Massachusetts at Boston

Donna Dragon
Assistant Professor of Dance
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 018A
Email: donna.dragon@bridgew.edu
Degrees

CMA, Laban/Bartenieff Institute of Movement Students
MEd, Temple University
GC, Temple University
PhD, Temple University

Miranda Giurleo
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 027
Email: miranda.giurleo@bridgew.edu
Stephen M. Levine
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 112
Email: slevine@bridgew.edu
Jim W. Quinn
Associate Professor of Theater
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 112
Email: jquinn@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BFA, Boston University School of Fine Arts
MFA, Yale University School of Drama

Suzanne M. Ramczyk
Professor of Theater
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 105
Email: sramczyk@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, San Jose University
MA, PhD, University of Oregon

Colleen Rua
Assistant Professor of Theater
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 024C
Email: colleen.rua@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Suffolk University
MA, Emerson College
PhD, Tufts University

Jennifer Sarver
Assistant Professor of Dance
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 024B
Email: jennifer.sarver@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA
MFA

Jody Weber
Assistant Professor of Theater
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 020
Email: jweber@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BFA, State University of New York at Purchase
MA, American University
PhD, Boston University

Staff
Eileen DeAndrade
Administrative Assistant I
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 018
Email: edeandrade@bridgew.edu
Mark Johnson
Auditorium Technical Director
Rondileau Campus Center Theater, Room 122
Email: mjohnson@bridgew.edu
Department Chair
Dr.
Nancy Moses
Administrative Assistant
Ms.
Eileen DeAndrade

The department offers a BA in Theater or Dance, a minor in theater, an interdisciplinary minor in dance, and education programs for teacher certification in both theater and dance. We hope to provide all Bridgewater students with opportunities to learn about and appreciate the arts.

Our curriculum is based on a strong liberal arts foundation, yet it allows students to pursue pre-professional preparation through advanced electives in performance and individualized attention in both management and technical practice. Many of our theater and dance graduates enter graduate programs and/or become career artists. Others become teachers and professors in the arts, and some integrate their artistic principles and skills into other careers and paths in life.

Department of Theater and Dance
Rondileau Campus Center
Room 018
508.531.2193