Bridgewater State University - logo
SHARE PAGE:   
 

Department of Special Education & Communication Disorders

Special education teachers work with students who have learning, mental, emotional and physical disabilities, including speech and hearing disorders. In some cases, they ensure that lessons and strategies are modified to accommodate the student. In other cases, they help students with basic literacy and math skills, communication skills and independent living skills.

Our department offers programs designed to meet the interests of undergraduate and graduate students interested in working with individuals who have special needs.

Faculty
David Almeida
Professor and Chair of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 222
Email: david.almeida@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, College of the Holy Cross
MA, Assumption College
EdM, PhD, Harvard University 

Ahmed M. Abdelal
Assistant Professor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 128K
Email: ahmed.abdelal@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Assiut University
MS, Worcester State College
MA, PhD, Cairo University

J. Edward Carter
Assistant Proffessor and Graduate Coordinator of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 221
Email: edward.carter@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, MEd, PhD, Boston College

Sandra Ciocci
Professor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 129
Email: sciocci@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, PhD, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
MEd, Northeastern University

Delayne Connor
Associate Professor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 246
Email: delayne.connor@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Hiram College
MEd, PhD, Kent State University

Mary Connor
Associate Professor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 242
Email: mary.connor@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Stonehill College
MEd, Bridgewater State College
DEd, Boston University

Ken Dobush
Associate Professor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 245
Email: kdobush@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BFA, Fordham University
MS, College of Saint Rose
PhD, University of Albany

Jeri Katz
Professor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 224
Email: jkatz@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, University of Rhode Island
MEd, Bridgewater State College
DEd, Boston College

Robert MacMillan
Professor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 219
Email: rmacmillan@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, MEd, Frostburg State College
MA, West Virginia University
EdD, University of Alabama

Suzanne Miller
Assistant Professor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 128
Email: suzanne.miller@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Bridgewater State College
MS, PhD, Emerson College

Gay Yelle
Instructor of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall, Room 319
Email: gay.yelle@bridgew.edu
Staff
Joanne Abdallah
Speech/Language Clinic Coordinator
Burnell Hall, 128-I
Email: jabdallah@bridgew.edu
Mary Comeau
Administrative Assistant I
Hart Hall, Room 248
Email: mcomeau@bridgew.edu
Department Chair
Dr.
David Almeida
Administrative Assistant
Ms.
Mary Comeau
Graduate Coordinator
Dr.
J. Edward Carter

The department’s programs include a BSE degree in Special Education (Moderate Disabilities, Severe Disabilities or Communication Disorders), a five-year dual licensure program (BSE in Elementary Education/M.Ed in Special Education), a minor in special education and communication disorders, and a minor in communication disorders. We also offer special education licensure programs and M.Ed programs in Special Education and Speech-Language Pathology.

We encourage our students to be both ambitious and highly dedicated, because the demand for their skills is substantial. Our graduates pursue successful careers as special education teachers in public and private schools, speech pathologists, audiologists, speech and hearing therapists, counselors, consultants and school administrators.

Department of Special Education & Communication Disorders
Hart Hall
Room 129
508.531.1226

Special Education and Communication Disorders Bridgewater State University Hart Hall, Room 248 90 Burrill Avenue Bridgewater, MA 02325 Tel: 508.531.1226 Fax: 508.531.1771



Related Links and Resources