Search Google Appliance

Bridgewater State University - logo

A Very Good Year

News Feature

News & Events

April 24, 2013
The accomplishments and dedication of dozens of faculty, librarians and staff members were honored at the ninth annual Awards for Academic Excellence. Recognized were those who have completed significant scholarly publications and creative work, as well as 2013’s major academic award recipients. This year’s awardees were:
Lifetime Faculty Research Award – Professor Phil Scalisi, Mathematics
Class of 1950 Distinguished Faculty Research Award – Professor Preston Saunders, Art
Dr. V. James DiNardo Award for Excellence in Teaching – Professor Susan Miskelly, Communication Studies
Jordan D. Fiore Award for Social Justice – Dr. Theresa A. Coogan, Counselor Education
Presidential Award for Diversity and Inclusion – Dr. Joyce Rain Anderson, English
Presidential Award for Distinguished Adjunct Teaching – Professor Emily Holmes, Social Work Professor Joanne McDonald, Departments of Early and Elementary Education & Instructional Technology
Presidential Award for Distinguished Teaching -Dr. Ward Heilman, Mathematics, Dr. Kathleen Laquale, Movement Arts, Health Promotion & Leisure Studies
Presidential Award for Excellence in Collaboration to Improve Teaching - Dr. Minae Savas, Foreign Languages, Ms. Sheau-Hwang Chang, Library Services
Presidential Fellowship – Dr. Edward Brush, Chemical Sciences
View photos from the event in the slideshow below