Bears of Distinction

Event Coverage

News & Events

May 14, 2014

The 2014 Alumni Awards Dinner was held in the ballroom of the Adrian Rondileau Campus Center with Carol Sacchetti, ’98, president of the Bridgewater State University Alumni Association, presiding.

An audience of 300 was on hand for the program and the following awards were presented:

The Dr. George A. Weygand, ’53, G ’56, Award for Outstanding Service to the Bridgewater Alumni Association was presented to Annmaria Greco Tierno, ’92, past

president of the association who is now the program director for the Campus Compact of New Hampshire 

The Dr. Catherine Comeau Award for Professional Achievement was presented to Dr. Karen Croteau, ’83, professor of exercise science at the University of Southern Maine

The Afro-American Alumni Association Award was presented to Luis Rosa, ’05, past president of the Afro-American Alumni Association and presently assistant dean of admissions at Stonehill College

The Dr. Adrian Tinsley Award for Achievement in the Arts was presented to William Donnelly, ’94, a playwright associated with the Boston Center for the Arts who was previously the resident playwright for the Massachusetts-based Industrial Theatre

The Dr. Adrian Rondileau Award for Professional Achievement and Community Service was presented to Evelyn DeLutis, ’63, a retired teacher for the town of Bridgewater who was the 2013 Rotary Club Citizen of the Year for Bridgewater

The Nicholas Tillinghast Award for Achievement in the Field of Education was presented to Ronald Stahley, ’76, who is the superintendent of schools for the Windham (Vermont) Southeast Schools and was 2012 Vermont Superintendent of the Year

The Martha D. Jones, ’64, Award for Outstanding Dedication to Students was presented to Kenny Monteiro, assistant director of FAM for Change at Bridgewater State University

The Dr. Marilyn White Barry, ’58, Graduate Alumni Award was presented to Brian E. Lynch, G ’89, principal of the George H. Mitchell Elementary School in Bridgewater and who was selected as a recipient of the 2013 National Distinguished Elementary School Principal Award.

Photo caption: From left: Brian Lynch, William Donnelly, Annmaria Greco Tierno, Ron Stahley, Kenny Monteiro, Luis Rosa, Evelyn DeLutis, and Karen Croteau. (Story and photo by David K. Wilson, ’71, University News)

See story for caption information