Class Acts

Event Coverage

News & Events

May 1, 2012

The university's eighth annual Awards for Academic Excellence ceremony drew an audience of several hundred to the Flynn Dining Commons to recognize eighty faculty members, librarians and administrators for their research, academic accomplishments, public service and creative works.

In his welcoming remarks President [b]Dana Mohler-Faria[/b] expressed his thanks by saying, "I look forward to this event every year with great enthusiasm because today we gather to celebrate the wonderful and inspiring work that you do. Through your extraordinary teaching, world-class scholarship, artistic expression, groundbreaking research and unwavering commitment to community service, you continue to expand the reach of our mission. Our students and their families, as well as our commonwealth, the nation and the world, benefit tremendously from your ingenuity, perseverance, creativity and commitment to excellence."

Among those joining Dr. Mohler-Faria in officiating at the ceremony were [b]Dr. Howard London[/b], provost and vice-president for academic affairs; [b]Dr. Brenda Molife[/b], chief of staff in the president's office; [b]Dr. Pamela Russell[/b] and [b]Dr. Karen Fein[/b], CARS (Center for the Advancement of Research and Scholarship) co-coordinators; and [b]Dr. Anna Bradfield[/b], dean of the College of Education and Allied Studies.

This year's top award recipients are:
Professor [b]Donald Tarallo[/b] of the Department of Art, the Bridgewater State University Presidential Fellowship.

[b]Dr. Elizabeth Spievak[/b] of the Department of Psychology, the Dr. Jordan D. Fiore Award for Social Justice

[b]Dr. Gregory Chaplin[/b] of the Department of English, the Bridgewater State University Lifetime Faculty Research Award

[b]Dr. Erin O'Connor[/b] of the Department of History, the Class of 1950 Distinguished Faculty Research Award

[b]Dr. Melissa Freeburg[/b] of the Department of Counselor Education, the Dr. V. James DiNardo Award for Excellence in Teaching

[b]Dr. Sandra Faiman-Silva[/b] of the Department of Anthropology, the the Presidential Award for Diversity and Inclusion

Professor [b]Jennifer Mogg[/b], Department of Philosophy, and Professor [b]Katy Whittingham[/b], Department of English, the Presidential Award for Distinguished Adjunct Teaching

[b]Dr. Michelle Cox[/b], Department of English, and [b]Dr. Teresa King[/b], Department of Psychology, the Presidential Award for Distinguished Teaching

[b]Dr. Matthew Salomone[/b], Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, and [b]Dr. Stacey Sheriff[/b], Department of English, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Collaboration to Improve Teaching

Below is the description of the awards and a list of faculty and librarian publications. (Story and photos by David K. Wilson, '71, University Advancement)

Dr. Gregory Chaplin is flanked on the left by President Mohler-Faria and on the right by Provost Howard London and Dean Anna Bradfield
Dr. Melissa Freeburg accepts her award
Dr. Erin O'Connor