Search Google Appliance

Bridgewater State University - logo

Heads of the Class

Event Coverage

News & Events

April 24, 2014

The RCC ballroom was filled with honorees and special guests for this year’s Awards for Academic Excellence ceremony. The eight awards “all recognize high achievement,” President Dana Mohler-Faria said in his welcoming remarks.

Previously, the president and the members of the committee that selects the recipients for the annual Presidential Awards for Distinguished Teaching surprised this year’s honorees. They are Dr. Lee Torda, assistant professor of English; and Dr. Jordon Barkalow, assistant professor of political science. (See video below for those presentations.) The pair was also on hand at the ceremony, where they received their awards along with the other honorees.

Dr. Howard London, provost, highlighted the wide range of topics and disciplines being honored. “(They) revel how engaged our faculty members are on the national and world stages, as well as in the classroom.”

The faculty awardees, he added, “clearly represent a modern, vibrant Bridgewater, and we honor them for their work, just as we are honored by their work.”  (Story and photos by John Winters, video by David K. Wilson, '71, with additional editing by student Nick Allende, University News)

The honorees:

Jordan D. Fiore Award for Social Justice – Dr. Walter Carroll (sociology
Lifetime Faculty/Librarian Achievement Award – Sheau-Hwang Chang (library services)
Class of 1950 Distinguished Faculty Research Award – Dr. Diana Fox (anthropology)
Dr. V. James DiNardo Award for Excellence in Teaching – Dr. Vernon Domingo – (geography)
Presidential Award for Diversity, Inclusion and Social Justice – Dr. Benjamin Carson (English)
Presidential Award for Distinguished Adjunct Teaching – Professor Denise Hutching (communications studies)
Presidential Award for Distinguished Adjunct Teaching – Dr. Gloria Moran (elementary and early childhood education)
Presidential Award for Distinguished Teaching – Dr. Jordan Barkalow (political science)
Presidential Award for Distinguished Teaching – Dr. Lee Torda (English)
Presidential Fellowship Award – Dr. Victoria Bacon (counselor education)
All the winners, flanked by President Mohler-Faria and Provost London