

Racial Justice Task Force Subcommittee Membership



Subcommittee 1 - Curricula and Co-Curricula

FOCUS: What and how are we teaching both within and outside of the classroom about racial justice (high-impact experiences)?

Members:

Diana Fox, Co-Chair, Anthropology Faculty
Jenny Shanahan, Co-Chair, Center for Transformative Learning Administrator
Keith Abaka, Student
Arnaa Alcon, Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Angelo Lopes Barbosa, Institute for Cape Verdean Studies
Emily Cuff, Student
Lee Forest, GLBTA Pride Center
Kevin McGowan, Elementary and Early Childhood Education Faculty
Samuel Serna Otalvaro, Physics Faculty
Denine Rocco, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
Wendy Champagnie Williams, Social Work Faculty

RJTF Subcommittee 2 - BSU Workforce

FOCUS: Recruitment, hiring, retention, promotion, and support of faculty, administration, and staff of color — diversity, equity, inclusion

Members:

Diane Bell, Co-Chair, Internship Program
Jibril Solomon, Co-Chair, Social Work Faculty
Michelle Arnel, Student
Jeanean Davis-Street, Dean of the Ricciardi College of Business
Vinny DeMacedo, Regional Partnerships
Shawn Flynn, Human Resources & Talent Management
Glenn Gonsalves, Athletics
Jo Hoffman, Elementary and Early Childhood Education Faculty

RJTF Subcommittee 3 - Education, Training, and Continued Learning Opportunities for Faculty, Staff, and Students

FOCUS: Racial Sensitivity Training / Anti-Racist Training / Cultural Competency / Implicit Bias Training

Members:

Jabbar Al-Obaidi, Co-Chair, Communication Studies Faculty
Joyce Rain Anderson, Co-Chair, English Faculty
Mike Froio, Assistant Chief, BSU Police Department
Tiffany Harriott, Student
Rita Miller, Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Luis Paredes, Office of Institutional Diversity
Brian Salvaggio, Human Resources & Talent Management
Sabrina Victor, Human Resources & Talent Management
Judith Willison, Social Work Faculty

RJTF Subcommittee 4 - Investing in and Supporting Students

FOCUS:

Administrative and Organizational Support Structures for Students Student Community / Social Life

Members:

Sabrina Gentlewarrior, Co-Chair, Student Success and Diversity
Emily Portela, Co-Chair, Graduate Student
Laura Biechler, Financial Aid
Joseph Clark, Student
Elizabeth Ching-Bush, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
Cecilia DeOliveira, Student Success and Diversity
Emily Field, English Faculty
Jasselle Garcia, Student
Reid Higginson, Academic Achievement Center
Jill Lucchetti, Martin Richard Institute for Social Justice
Joe Oravecz, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
Luis Pires, Student
Mercedes Reid, Student
Marquis Taylor, Community member
Alexis Wright, Student

RJTF Subcommittee 5 - Police and Public Safety

FOCUS: Ability of BSU police to understand students of color and present in a manner that is less threatening and more supportive

Members:

Mike King, Co-Chair, Criminal Justice Faculty
Brenda Molife, Co-Chair, Outreach & Engagement
Mary Ankomah, Alumna
Javaun Dixon, Student
Laura Gross, Mathematics Faculty
George Gurley, Community member
Tina Mullone, Dance Faculty
Donna Schiavo, Wellness Center
David Tillinghast, Chief, BSU Police Department
Michael Walsh, Student Success and Diversity

RJTF Subcommittee 6 - Creating a Place for Ongoing Support, Problem Solving, Reporting Resolution, and Response

FOCUS: Seeking input from students of color; co-building and co-facilitating BSU initiatives with students of color; creating a space where students can directly report racial harassment, alleged discriminatory treatment, or other sensitive issues related to racial and ethnic abuse. Faculty, staff, and students of color need to have a place for ongoing dialogue, listening, participate in student circles, etc.

Members:

Pam Russell, Co-Chair, Academic Affairs
Gabriella Rivera, Co-Chair, Student
D Demers, Equal Opportunity Office
Michael DeValve, Criminal Justice Faculty
TJ Hairston, Student
Mingy Penha, Facilities
Keri Powers, Human Resources & Talent Management
Jennifer Thibodeau, Martin Richard Institute of Social Justice
Peter Wiernicki, Office of Community Standards

For more information about the Racial Justice Task Force, go to the <u>RJTF webpage</u> or email <u>RJTF@bridgew.edu</u>.

List current as of 10/27/20