

# Racial Justice Task Force Subcommittee Membership



## Subcommittee 1 – Curricula and Co-Curricula

FOCUS: What and how are we teaching both within and outside of the classroom about racial justice (high-impact experiences)?

Members: Diana Fox, Co-Chair, Anthropology Faculty Jenny Shanahan, Co-Chair, Center for Transformative Learning Administrator Keith Abaka, Student Arnaa Alcon, Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences Angelo Lopes Barbosa, Institute for Cape Verdean Studies Emily Cuff, Student Lee Forest, GLBTA Pride Center Renia Lorjuste, Student Kevin McGowan, Elementary and Early Childhood Education Faculty Samuel Serna Otalvaro, Physics Faculty Denine Rocco, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management Zahara Townsend, Student Wendy Champagnie Williams, Social Work Faculty

### **RJTF Subcommittee 2 - BSU Workforce**

FOCUS: Recruitment, hiring, retention, promotion, and support of faculty, administration, and staff of color — diversity, equity, inclusion

Members: Diane Bell, Co-Chair, Internship Program Jibril Solomon, Co-Chair, Social Work Faculty Michelle Arnel, Student Jeanean Davis-Street, Dean of the Ricciardi College of Business Vinny DeMacedo, Regional Partnerships Shawn Flynn, Human Resources & Talent Management Glenn Gonsalves, Athletics Jo Hoffman, Elementary and Early Childhood Education Faculty

# RJTF Subcommittee 3 - Education, Training, and Continued Learning Opportunities for Faculty, Staff, and Students

FOCUS: Racial Sensitivity Training / Anti-Racist Training / Cultural Competency / Implicit Bias Training

#### Members:

Jabbar Al-Obaidi, Co-Chair, Communication Studies Faculty Joyce Rain Anderson, Co-Chair, English Faculty Mike Froio, Assistant Chief, BSU Police Department Tiffany Harriott, Student Rita Miller, Dean of Undergraduate Studies Luis Paredes, Office of Institutional Diversity Brian Salvaggio, Human Resources & Talent Management Sabrina Victor, Human Resources & Talent Management Judith Willison, Social Work Faculty

### **RJTF Subcommittee 4 - Investing in and Supporting Students**

FOCUS:

Administrative and Organizational Support Structures for Students Student Community / Social Life

#### Members:

Sabrina Gentlewarrior, Co-Chair, Student Success and Diversity Emily Portela, Co-Chair, Graduate Student Joseph Clark, Student Elizabeth Ching-Bush, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management Cecilia DeOliveira, Student Success and Diversity Emily Field, English Faculty (Fall 2020, Sabbatical Spring 2021) Jasselle Garcia, Student (Fall 2020) Reid Higginson, Academic Achievement Center Jill Lucchetti, Martin Richard Institute for Social Justice (Fall 2020) Joe Oravecz, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management Luis Pires, Student Mercedes Reid, Student Marquis Taylor, Community member Alexis Wright, Student

### **RJTF Subcommittee 5 - Police and Public Safety**

FOCUS: Ability of BSU police to understand students of color and present in a manner that is less threatening and more supportive

Members: Mike King, Co-Chair, Criminal Justice Faculty Brenda Molife, Co-Chair, Outreach & Engagement (Fall 2020) Sydné Marrow, Co-Chair, LGCIE (Spring 2021) Mary Ankomah, Alumna Javaun Dixon, Student Laura Gross, Mathematics Faculty George Gurley, Community member Tina Mullone, Dance Faculty Donna Schiavo, Wellness Center David Tillinghast, Chief, BSU Police Department Michael Walsh, Student Success and Diversity

# RJTF Subcommittee 6 - Creating a Place for Ongoing Support, Problem Solving, Reporting Resolution, and Response

FOCUS: Seeking input from students of color; co-building and co-facilitating BSU initiatives with students of color; creating a space where students can directly report racial harassment, alleged discriminatory treatment, or other sensitive issues related to racial and ethnic abuse. Faculty, staff, and students of color need to have a place for ongoing dialogue, listening, participate in student circles, etc.

Members: Pam Russell, Co-Chair, Academic Affairs Gabriella Rivera, Co-Chair, Student D Demers, Equal Opportunity Office Michael DeValve, Criminal Justice Faculty TJ Hairston, Student Mingy Penha, Facilities Keri Powers, Human Resources & Talent Management Jennifer Thibodeau, Martin Richard Institute of Social Justice Peter Wiernicki, Office of Community Standards

For more information about the Racial Justice Task Force, go to the <u>RJTF webpage</u> or email <u>RJTF@bridgew.edu</u>.

#### List current as of 2/2/21