Search Google Appliance

Bridgewater State University - logo

Department of Theatre

The department of Theatre at Bridgewater State University is committed to educating students in a significant art form. Upon completing a program in theatre, students are prepared to engage in theatre throughout their lives, to pursue advanced study in the art form or to begin a career in theatre.

Faculty
Jim W. Quinn
Associate Professor and Chairperson of Theatre
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 112
Tel:
508.531.2670
Email: jquinn@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BFA, Boston University School of Fine Arts
MFA, Yale University School of Drama

Emmett Buhmann
Assistant Professor of Theatre
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 112
Tel:
508.531.1036
Email: emmett.buhmann@bridgew.edu
Degrees

AA, Central Wyoming College
BFA, University of Wyoming
MFA, University of California Irvine

Miranda Giurleo
Assistant Professor of Theatre
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 027
Tel:
508.531.2039
Email: miranda.giurleo@bridgew.edu
Suzanne M. Ramczyk
Professor of Theatre
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 105
Tel:
508.531.2642
Email: sramczyk@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, San Jose University
MA, PhD, University of Oregon

Colleen Rua
Assistant Professor of Theatre
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 024C
Tel:
508.531.3707
Email: colleen.rua@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Suffolk University
MA, Emerson College
PhD, Tufts University

Emeriti Faculty
Arthur L. Dirks
Professor of Theatre
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 024B
Tel:
508.531.2039
Email: adirks@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Fort Hays State College
MA, University of Kansas
MFA, Illinois State University
EdD, University of Massachusetts at Boston

Stephen M. Levine
Rondileau Campus Center, Room 112
Tel:
508.531.2140
Email: slevine@bridgew.edu
Staff
Mark Johnson
Assistant Director, Production, Audio and Lighting Services
Rondileau Campus Center Theater, Room 122
Tel:
508.531.1708
Email: mjohnson@bridgew.edu
Department Chair
Prof.
Jim W. Quinn
Tel:
508.531.2670

The department of Theatre offers concentrations in Theatre Arts, Theatre Education, and Theatre Performance as well as minors in Theatre Arts and Musical Theatre Performance.

The theatre arts concentration emphasizes a comprehensive theatre program within the liberal arts context. Students pursue a systematic course of study in performance, production, management, history, literature and criticism, which is enhanced by opportunities to participate in either performance or production in the department’s theatre season.

The theatre education program combines the content of the theatre program with additional learning to support Standard I requirements for licensure to teach theatre in public schools in Massachusetts.

The theatre performance concentration augments the broad based approach of the theatre arts concentration with the additional comprehensive course work in acting, voice and dance, preparing the student more thoroughly for entry-level performance occupations and graduate schools or conservatories.

Department of Theatre
Rondileau Campus Center
Room 018
508.531.2193