This is a content holder for the one button emergency notification system.

Student-Athletes Honored at Annual Banquet

Top awards handed out, academic excellence recognized

Story Series
News Feature

The Bridgewater State University Athletics and Recreation Department held its 31st Annual All Sports Banquet on Tuesday, May 2, honoring various teams and players.

Director of Athletics Marybeth Lamb, emceed the ceremony. 

President Frederick W. Clark Jr. was on hand to present the Dr. Adrian Tinsley Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards to Clara Goncalves (volleyball) and Colton Schilling (football).

Former Director of Athletics, John Harper, returned to present the John C. Harper Athlete of the Year awards to standouts Samantha Richner (track & field) and Conor Murtagh (track & field).

Conor is the first three-time winner of the Athlete of the Year award.

Other major award winners were Rookies of the Year, Elizabeth Ettridge (women's lacrosse) and Dylon Willis (swimming); Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award recipients, Amanda Lane (track & field) and Patrick McGuinness (basketball); Athletic Training Students of the Year, Chelsea Eccleston (undergraduate) and Mikaela Shelby (graduate); and the Student-Athlete Leadership Award recipient, Courtney Leddy (softball).

Also honored were more than 160 student-athletes who maintained at least a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or who earned Dean’s List honors for the fall 2016 semester. The 2016-17 team captains and senior student-athletes/trainers were honored as well as the members of Chi Sigma Alpha (National College Athlete Honor Society). Associate Director of Athletics, Susan Crosby-Tangen, announced the Team Academic Award winners. The women’s outdoor track & field team had the top grade point average on the women's side checking in at 3.45, while the men's soccer squad was the men's winner with a GPA of 3.12.

Also in attendance were Interim Vice President of Student Affairs Margaret Jablonski and Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences Paula M. Krebs. Dr. Jablonski presented the Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award winners, while Dean Krebs presented the Rookie of the Year awards. (Story by Michael Holbrook for University News & Media)

Contact Us

Marketing & Communications

Bridgewater State University
131 Summer Street
Bridgewater, MA 02325
United States

Media Hotline

131 Summer Street
Bridgewater, MA 02325
United States