This is a content holder for the one button emergency notification system.

Dr. V. James Dinardo Award For Excellence in Teaching

Dr. V. James DiNardo, ‘39, Executive Vice President Emeritus


The Dr. V. James Dinardo Award for Excellence In Teaching was established in 1984 by the Alumni Association in honor of Dr. V. James DiNardo, ‘39, Executive Vice President Emeritus. Each year, it is presented to a current full-time faculty member in recognition of excellence in teaching. Each awardee receives a plaque and a cash award at the Awards for Academic Excellence Ceremony in the spring.



Eligibility Requirements

Full-time faculty must meet the following criteria to be eligible:

  • taught at BSU for at least three years
  • not currently being evaluated for tenure or promotion
  • not currently on sabbatical leave or leave of absence
  • not a winner of the Presidential Award for Distinguished Teaching

A faculty member may receive this award only once during their BSU career.

DiNardo Award Timeline

  • DiNardo Awards Nominations Process Open
  • Feb 1: Nomination Period Closes
  •  DiNardo Awards Committee Reviews Nominations and and Makes Recommendations
  • Awards are Announced at the Academic Excellence Ceremony in the spring

Nomination Process

Administrators, faculty, students and alumni may nominate more than one candidate, but self-nomination is not permitted. (Note: Students are encouraged to collaborate on a group letter that addresses each of the criteria below). They do not need to notify the person or obtain their consent, but they are free to do so.  A nomination letter should specify how the faculty member demonstrates each of the following:

  • mastery of the discipline and/or subject matter 
  • an enthusiastic and intellectually stimulating teaching style
  • empathy for and keen interest in students
  • effective modes of communication
  • meaningful evaluation of students' progress

Please submit nominations here no later than Monday February 1, 2021 at 11:59 pm.


Selection Process

The DiNardo Awards Committee will determine the finalists and the Executive Director of the Office of Alumni and Development make a recommendation to the President. 

DiNardo Awards Committee Members

This committee consists of the following members (or their designees):

  • Two previous DiNardo Award winners 
  • Student representative who is the member of the BSU Foundation Board
  • Bridgewater Alumni Association Representative
  • Director of Alumni and Student Engagement
  • A representative for the DiNardo Family
  • Associate Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs (chairperson)


1984 Dr. Walter Morin
1985 Prof. Joanne Wuschke
1986 Robert Bent
1987 Dr. Jordian Fiore, '40
1988 Dr. George Weygand, '53, G'56
1989 Dr. Diane Peabody
1990 Prof. Johanne Smith
1991 Prof. Mercer Fellouris
1992 Prof. Thomas Moore
1993 Dr. James Brennan
1994 Dr. Robert Boutilier
1995 Dr. Michael Kryzanek
1996 Prof. Lee Dunne
1997 Prof. Margaret Joyce, '56, G'64
1998 Dr. Walter Hewitson
1999 Prof. Judith Deckers
2000 Dr. Clifford Wood, '60
2001 Dr. Robert Fitzgibbons
2002 Dr. Kevin Curry
2003 Prof. Kathleen Sevigny
2004 Dr. Suzanne Ramczyk
2005 Dr. Edward Brush
2006 Dr. Thomas Turner
2007 Dr. joseph Huber
2008 Dr. Ann Brunjes
2009 Dr. David Culver
2010 Dr. Robert Wolk
2011 Dr. Roger Dunn
2012 Dr. Phyllis Gimbel
2013 Dr. Melissa Nicole Freeburg
2014 Prof. Susan Miskelly
2015 Dr. Vernon Domingo
2016 Dr. Martin Grossman
2017 Dr. Jonghyun Lee
2018 Not Awarded

Contact Us

Alumni Relations

Jones Alumni House
Bridgewater State University
26 Summer Street
Bridgewater, MA 02325
United States


Jones Alumni House
Bridgewater State University
26 Summer Street
Bridgewater, MA 02325
United States

Federal Tax ID/EIN #22-2678005

Mail your tax-exempt donation to:
BSU Foundation (address check to "BSU Foundation")
P.O. Box 42
Bridgewater, MA 02324
United States