Mandela Washington Fellowship BSU Team

Mandela Fellows
Our cross-divisional team.
Profiles of the BSU Fellows.
Social Media
#YALI2018, #MandelaFellows

Meet the TeamWendy Haynes (background) and Mike Kryzanek welcome the 2017 BSU Fellows

It takes a community to plan and support the Mandela Washington Fellows who have participated in the Leadership Institute at Bridgewater State University over the past three years. Toward that end, the university convenes a cross-divisional group comprised of faculty and administrators who, together, meet regularly to plan and implement all aspects of living and learning on campus and across the commonwealth for the Fellows.

The team develops a six-week schedule full of robust experiences for the Fellows from their academic, cultural and professional development to meeting members of the larger community on campus, in town and across the region, to planning fun experiences and exercises that are truly unique to New England.

Led by Dr. Wendy Haynes, Director of the Mandela Washington Fellowship Institute at BSU, members of the team include:

  • Dr. Wing-kai To, Coordinator of Curriculum and Experiential Learning
  • Dr. Michael Kryzanek, Academic Coordinator
  • Harold Tavares, Administrative Coordinator
  • Corey Bowdre, Corporate Relations Officer
  • Jennifer Currie, Assistant Director, International Student and Scholar Services
  • Eva Gaffney, Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Communications, Chief Marketing Officer
  • Kara Lees, Comptroller, CPA
  • Jennifer Maus, Coordinator, Institutional Events
  • Susan McCombe, Director, University and Community Partnerships
  • Meghan Olbrys, Administrative Assistant, Office of the President
  • Eileen O’Sullivan, Director, Web Development
  • Joao Rosa, Executive Director, Pedro Pires Institute for Cape Verdean Studies
  • Ruth Slotnick, Director, Learning Outcomes and Assessment
  • Mary Waldron, Director, Institute for Policy Analysis and Regional Engagement
  • Mia Zoino, Director, Grants and Sponsored Projects

Academic Team Leaders, under Academic Coordinator Dr. Michael Kryzanek, include:

  • Dr. David Almeida, Professor of Special Education
  • Dr. Kevin Donnelly, Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator of the Master of Public Administration program
  • Dr. Wendy Haynes, Professor of Political Science
  • Dr. Meghan Healy-Clancy, Assistant Professor of History
  • Dr. George Serra, Professor and Director of the Center for Democratic Governance and Leadership

Please contact with any questions.

Back to Mandela Washington Fellowship Overview Home +