This is a content holder for the one button emergency notification system.

Class Notes - Bridgewater Magazine Fall 2020

James “Jimmy” Pappas was interviewed by Rattle poetry editor Tim Green on YouTube. The interview can be found on YouTube, Rattlecast #34.

James Kirkcaldy retired from the Hingham Public Schools after 48 years, during which he served as a teacher and as social studies director for grades K-12. He will continue to teach history at Bristol Community College in Fall River and provide AP European history workshops for teachers around the country.

Paula Miller, is retiring after 36 years as head coach of the Ithaca College women’s swimming and diving program. She was inducted into Bridgewater State’s Athletics Hall of Fame in 1990.

Steven R. Salisbury retired as Chief of Chaplain Service for the Veterans Administration of Boston.

Stephanie Ward, G’85, was elected president of Citizens for Juvenile Justice, a statewide youth advocacy organization.

John A. Marciano retired as director of special events for Lowell National Historical Park after decades of service.

Sergeant John MacLellan retired from the Watertown Police Department following 30 years of service.

Edward Grueter was selected as a member of the 2020 MASCAC Hall of Fame class for his contributions to the Bridgewater State baseball team as a student.

Nancy B. Gustafson, G’92, received the 22nd Annual ATHENA Award from the Metro South Chamber of Commerce. The award, established in partnership with ATHENA International, recognizes an exceptional individual who has achieved excellence in their business or profession, has served the community in a meaningful way and has assisted women in reaching their full leadership potential.

Anthony Fallon was named the football coach for Canton High School.

Debra Goulart, G’01, G’06, is the new principal of Kenneth C. Coombs School in Mashpee.

Michael Triant was named head coach of Winthrop High School’s boys basketball team.
Susan Brelsford, G’04, was named principal of Somerset Berkley Regional High School.

Judith E. Kuehn, G’05, is superintendent of Hull
Public Schools.

Matthew Gebo, G’09, was named West Tisbury Police Officer of the Year for 2019.

William E. Burkhead, G’09, is superintendent of schools for Scituate Public Schools.

Alyssa Watling was named girls volleyball coach at Old Colony Regional Vocational Technical High School in Rochester.

Chase Eschauzier was appointed the new principal of the Alden School in Duxbury.

Cory Mikolazyk is director of student services for the Foxborough Public Schools where he oversees special education programming.

Kate Robinson, LICSW, G’14, joined Planned Lifetime Assistance Network of Massachusetts and Rhode Island as a service coordinator supervisor.

James Scanlon, G’14, was named district winner and state nominee for the Theodore H. Damko Award, presented by the Massachusetts Secondary Schools Athletic Directors Association to top athletic directors with five or fewer years experience in their position.

Anna Amico was named the 2020 Division 4 Boys Indoor Track Coach of the Year by The Boston Globe sports staff.

Michael P. Bradley performed in a drive-in concert at the Mass Music & Arts Society
in Mansfield.

Kevin Agrella, an Easton firefighter, graduated from the Massachusetts Fire Academy and is certified at the level of firefighter I and II, as well as in hazardous material operation.

Kathleen Gouveia is the SHINE training coordinator for the Executive Office of Elder Affairs.

Amanda Pitts joined ABC6 as a multimedia journalist in August 2018.

Rachel DiBari joined Peak Physical Therapy & Sports Performance in Pembroke as a physical therapy aide and medical receptionist.

Elizabeth Ettridge was named head coach of the girls lacrosse program at Marshfield High School.
Hans Christopher Guillaume graduated from Cambridge/Northeastern University Police Academy, Class #2, on June 17 and was sworn into the Avon Police Department on June 25.

Emily Mangum moved to Washington D.C. to begin her career as a communications coordinator for the Capitol Riverfront Business Improvement District.

Gabrielle Rosson’s film, A Rock Feels No Pain, was featured in The Andrew Buckner / A Word of Dreams Summer 2020 Short Film Festival.

Justin Lees, G’20, was named chief executive officer of Coastline Elderly Services, Inc., in New Bedford.

Contact Us

Bridgewater Magazine keeps alumni, faculty, students and their families, staff, and friends of BSU informed about the university community and its impact on the region. This magazine is written, designed and edited by the Office of Creative Services and Publications with the needs of its varied audiences at heart and in mind.

For correspondence regarding Bridgewater Magazine, address all mail to:

Creative Services and Publications
Bridgewater State University
Bridgewater, MA 02325

For older issues of Bridgewater Magazine, please visit Virtual Commons