First-Year Orientation

First-Year Orientation

First-Year Orientation

While orientation is a required part of every new student's education, many years of experience have shown this program plays an essential role in new student success at Bridgewater State University. Through Orientation, students will be able to understand their roles and responsibilities as a member of our energetic and challenging academic community.

Our goals for the program include providing students with an opportunity to meet an academic advisor who will help them register for their semester courses. In addition, we hope to help new students acclimate to campus as well as build relationships that will last throughout college.

The Orientation Programs are designed to help students
  • Familiarize themselves with key campus services and resources that are available to them.
  • Engage in discussions and activities that assist with the transition to college life.
  • Foster a desire for academic success.
  • Learn about their academic program as well as academic policies and procedures.
  • Navigate the online registration process which is part of the university’s InfoBear system.
  • Build upon relationships established during the Orientation program and have the opportunity to further develop relationships with faculty, staff, and other new students.
  • Learn about in-class and out-of-class involvement opportunities.​

For Summer 2019

Session 1: Thursday, June 6 -  Friday, June 7
Family Orientation: Thursday, June 6

Session 2: Monday, June 10 -  Tuesday, June 11
Family Orientation: Monday, June 10
 
Session 3: Thursday, June 13 -  Friday, June 14
Family Orientation: Thursday, June 13
 
Session 4: Monday, June 17 -  Tuesday, June 18
Family Orientation: Monday, June 17
 
Session 5: Thursday, June 20 -  Friday, June 21
Family Orientation: Thursday, June 20
  
PLEASE NOTE: Registration information is emailed to students.