This is a content holder for the one button emergency notification system.

BSU Values - Equality for All

On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the passage of the Thirteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution abolishing slavery, President Obama averred, "We betray the efforts of the past if we fail to push back against bigotry in all its forms ... To rise above the cynicism and rise above the fear, to hold fast to our values, to see ourselves in each other, to cherish dignity and opportunity not just for our own children but for somebody else's child."

Mindful of President Obama's call, and in response to national and global statements of intolerance and bigotry and acts of violence, the Bridgewater State University community has come together to reaffirm its own values of diversity, inclusion and equality for all. Initiated by a group of caring and committed BSU faculty, the community crafted a statement recommitting ourselves to these values. The president and the Board unanimously adopted as an official statement of the university the following:

"In response to growing and widespread incivility, bigotry, and hostility, we, the undersigned members of Bridgewater State University, reaffirm the values of our community as a welcoming, compassionate, and intellectually rigorous learning, working, and living environment. We reject all forms of bias, discrimination, xenophobia, and violence. We re-commit ourselves to actions that put into practice our individual and institutional values of diversity, inclusion, and equality for all."
  • Eugene J. Durgin Jr., Chairman, Board of Trustees
  • Frederick Clark, Jr., Esq., President
  • Jean MacCormack, Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees
  • Davede Alexander, Trustee
  • Margaret A. Caulfield, Esq., ’00, Trustee
  • F. Scott Longo, '89, Trustee
  • Diana Fox, Professor, Anthropology
  • Wing-Kai To, Professor, History
  • Jabbar Al-Obaidi, Professor, Communication Studies
  • Norma Anderson, Assistant Professor, Sociology
  • Maria Hegbloom, Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
  • Ward Heilman, Professor, Mathematics, Computer Science
  • Maggie Lowe, Professor, History
  • Carolyn Petrosino, Professor, Criminal Justice
  • Beatrice St. Laurent, Professor, Art
  • Karim Ismaili, Provost
  • Deniz Zeynip Leuenberger, Chief of Staff to President
  • Sabrina Gentlewarrior, Vice President, Student Success and Diversity
  • Paul Jean, Vice President, Marketing and Communications
  • Brenda Molife, Vice President, University Advancement
  • Keri Powers, Vice President, Human Resources and Talent Management

Our BSU Community

Angelo Barbosa
Interim Director Institute for Cape Verdean Studies
Madison Ramsey
Student/ majoring in special education with a concentration in severe disabilities and a double major in psychology/ 2023
Grace Steeves
History and Secondary Education 2022
Ms. Sean Maguire
Student Scholars Coordinator, Center for Transformative Learning
Kristen Romanelli
Web Content Manager
Aidan Mordas
Elementary Education and History ‘23
Claire Laurent
Student: Elementary Education/ English. 2022.
Leanne Paquet Cooper
Library Assistant
Alan Stamper
Psychology student, class of 2020
Elizabeth Mullen
Librarian Assistant III/ ERC Maxwell Library
Andrea Cayson
Associate Professor/Elementary and Early Childhood Education
Elizabeth Rodericks
Student, Psychology major, 2021
Jessica Rinker
Student, English and Secondary Education Major, Class of 2021
Melanie Santiago
Biology, 2021
Laura Machado
Staff Associate, Office of the President
Cory MacDonald
Political Science 2024
Rachel Emde
Library Assistant III/ Maxwell Library, Circulation Dept.
John Czarniak
Resident at Large (SGA Senator)
Michael Sweeney
Ashley ODonnell
Admissions Counselor/Dual Enrollment Coordinator, MEd '14
Lindsey Couturier
Head Softball Coach / Coordinator of Athletic External Relations
Cielito "Tammy" D. King
Professor of Chemistry
Gabriella Rivera
Elementary Education and Spanish Major with a concentration in special education Class of 2022
Mary Grant
Senior Administrative Fellow for Civics and Social Justice
Jake O'Neil
Management Major concentration in Human Resources 2023